Service interruption for Volkanalia

What a Volkanalia this has been! So the website http://www.deomercurio.be, which has been an ongoing project of mine—and also the fulfilment of a vow—should have celebrated its seventh birthday today with a significant upgrade, enabling me to post more images and at higher resolution and so forth, and hopefully letting people load the pages more quickly and smoothly. Instead, thanks to a variety of balls being dropped, failures of communication, and the unfortunate accident of this being a Saturday in August rather than a European work day, the site is now altogether inaccessible, and all comers are seeing a 404 error wherever they go.

I of course have everything backed up, so even if I needed to start from scratch with a new provider, I could have the site back up to full force within a matter of minutes, probably. As it happens, I expect everything to be restored to normal service on Monday when business resumes at the ma-and-pop Belgian internet company that has been bringing the site to the world since 2007. Still, this is quite unsettling for me.

I’ve often wondered how many real people are accessing http://www.deomercurio.be, and to what end. The handful of people who’ve contacted me about the site have all been very supportive, and have led me to believe that not all of the site’s hits are not from bots after all. Actually, I joined Pinterest today in a fit of absent-mindedness—and what should I find but that a great many of my pictures have been pinned there (some from Wikimedia, others are from the site). This is fantastic. Numbers of people I don’t even know have (A) found my photographs or maps or whatever, and (B) found them valuable and (C) wanted to pass on the word. Bravo, Pinterest pinners!

In other news on this fine day dedicated to Vulcan, I sorted out what I’m doing with a batch of gooseberry wine I’m making as well as a maple sack (not sack as in burlap but sack as in Falstaff!), and made a few small purchases including a new mouse (with which to forge, as it were, such fine works as those pages and images that have this day gone offline from http://www.deomercurio.be (elaborate eye roll)).

Aué Volkáne!
(Please make this service interruption go away!)
Aué Volkáne!

About DeoMercurio

I’m a Gaulish polytheist, now back living in lands ceded by the Council of Three Fires after several years’ sojourn in Anatolia and in the land of the Senecas, with frequent travels to Gaul along the way. My grandfather’s family came from the area around Trier, and I identify closely with the Treveri in my religious practice.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

