Polytheist pen pals

Sannion had a lovely idea about building reciprocity and connection in a devotional pen pal exchange. I think this is brilliant, and I’d love to participate. The idea is person A nominates a slate of deities they worship (in my case it’s a bit obvious who tops the list!), and then person B writes a devotional work for one of these deities. Meanwhile, person A does the same for someone on person B’s list.

I’ve been getting into the hero Titus Flamininus lately—maybe a bit too obscure a personage for the purpose, though he was even worshipped as a god by the Greeks, according to some accounts.

My question now is: Who picks who, and how does the ball get rolling? Do we put up a badge somewhere saying, “This awesome reciprocally minded person is participating in a polytheist prayer swap” that links to other people doing the same thing?

About DeoMercurio

I’m a Gaulish polytheist, now back living in lands ceded by the Council of Three Fires after several years’ sojourn in Anatolia and in the land of the Senecas, with frequent travels to Gaul along the way. My grandfather’s family came from the area around Trier, and I identify closely with the Treveri in my religious practice.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Polytheist pen pals

  1. I’ve been randomly assigning folks who comment on that post and making introductions, since I can see everyone’s e-mail addresses. I’m sure there’s a better way, but folks are often gunshy about putting their personal info out there.

  2. DeoMercurio says:

    Yup, that sounds great! Thanks for spearheading this. 🙂

  3. Heather Awen says:

    Has this happened?

  4. grainyday9x9 says:

    It really was/is a lovely idea. Count me in should it ever take off.

Leave a Reply

