Romae et Augustae

As usual, I feel like I’ve got tons to say and not nearly enough mental focus to get it all down! I should have announced this earlier, but, conveniently, if I post now, it’ll go up on the dies natalis Vrbis Romae, a.k.a. Parilia, a.k.a. Rome’s traditional foundation date. To wit: the good folks at Many Gods West have approved my proposal to present a ritual for the Kalends of August in honour of the goddess Rome and the divine Augustus, modelled after that traditionally held in Condate at the Altar of the Three Gauls. We’ll be electing an ersatz sacerdos Romae et Augusti, priest of Rome and Augustus, for which there is at least one outstanding candidate who’s already indicated their interest. The prize for the one elected will be to lead the assembled throng (or at least gaggle) in their prayers and offerings to Dea Roma and Diuus Augustus.

Dea Roma (polychrome)

A polychrome depiction of the bust of Dea Roma at the Louvre


I’m a total sucker for cross-cultural mediation and muddling, so I love things like this where the Gauls do something distinctively Gaulish in honour of Rome, or Roman deities wed Celtic ones, or Treveri turn up worshipping Germanic or British deities, or oddities in translation, whatever it might be.

Talking of which, I’m not sure whether I’ve posted yet concerning one little chant I use pretty regularly, and which I may as well offer up in honour of Dea Roma, without whom it would never have come into being. I love this bit, because while it’s from Gaul, it’s actually a highly watered-down Greek (with a few Latin and Gaulish elements) such as some slaves in Gaul might have used. The true voice of subaltern piety. My arrangement of it (based on a cursive inscription from Rom) goes like this:

Te uoraiimo, atanta tehon!
Te priauimo, atanta te!
Te za, timezo, zia;
eh za, atanta te.
Te uoraiimo, atanta tehon.
Te priauimo, atanta te!

“We’ve called on you, deathless (f.) of the gods!
We’ve prayed to you, deathless of the gods!
You, divine (f.) one, I shall honour, godly one (f.);
O divine, immortal you.
We’ve called on you, deathless of the gods!
We’ve prayed to you, deathless of the gods!”

(Fuller and better details on this inscription in Wolfgang Meid’s article “Pseudogallischen Inschriften”, in Pierr​e-Yve​s Lamb​ert ​& Geor​ges-J​ean Pina​ult (200​7), Gaul​ois et celt​ique cont​inent​al.)

About DeoMercurio

I’m a Gaulish polytheist, now back living in lands ceded by the Council of Three Fires after several years’ sojourn in Anatolia and in the land of the Senecas, with frequent travels to Gaul along the way. My grandfather’s family came from the area around Trier, and I identify closely with the Treveri in my religious practice.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Romae et Augustae

  1. While I can’t be certain that I’ll be able to attend your session, I’ll do my damnedest to be there! It sounds fascinating! And, I do honor Roma!

Leave a Reply

